Procastination – tomorrow’s another day…

I thought I would write about Procastination – but maybe I’ll do that next week 🙂 Just kidding – so here goes…

Why put off till tomorrow what you can do today? Well, maybe you’re not sure if it’s the right thing to do. Sound familiar? Maybe you suffer from Procastination. Here are some of my favourite quotes which may help you put this in conext:

I’m going to stop procastinating, once I get around to it. – Anonymous

Tomorrow is often the busiest day of the week – Anonymous

You pile up enough tomorrows, and you’ll find you’ve collected a lot of empty yesterdays.  – Professor Harold Hill (The Music Man)

All things come to those that wait, but when they come they’re out of date. – Anonymous

I’m sure you can think of a few more.

Dictionary.com defines ‘to procastinate’ as “to defer action; delay: until an opportunity is lost“. That’s right, another lost opportunity. So seize the day, seize the moment, in fact seize any time other than tomorrow or next week or month or year…

And what does that mean for you? Well, you need to take action. Of course action can include planning – in fact that’s a very good place to start (remember the 5Ps – Proper Preparation Prevents Poor Performance). Knee-jerking from one task to the next will lead to a similar outcome to Procastination – you don’t or won’t get what you want. Nevertheless the point is that you need to get going, without delay, otherwise, as the Korean Proverb suggests, ‘put off for one day and ten days will pass’. Imagine what a focussed effort can achieve in 10 days. Taking Action.

So what are you waiting for?

6 responses to “Procastination – tomorrow’s another day…

  1. I tend to procrastinate on things that I don’t like to do such as filing, opening letters and so on. I find them boring and unstimulating! Still, I know that I need to get them done! It will be great to allocate regular time to do these essential tasks.

  2. Hi Evelyn, great to hear from you. Ah, things we don’t like to do. You are absolutely right, the best and probably only way to deal with them is to ‘allocate regular time’, ie plan, then do them! Thanks again for stopping by. Take care, Stephen

  3. Luv the quotes. You can have a lot of fun with the word.

    Your definition really brings it home…it is delay until an opportunity is lost. I find that when we really spend our time doing things that are not so important in the end when we really look at it closely like watching TV or on the computer (guilty of that one.)

    It really invites us to be conscious and make a choice with every moment. Thanks for the reminder.

  4. Hiya Debbie, great to here from you again. I guess for me the best measure is around making progress and achieving. You can’t expect new outcomes if you keep putting off till tomorrow actions that will help you get there. Take care, Stephen

  5. I think I worry too much about procrastination at times. Some things just are! I guess I’m feeling relatively comfortable with how much attention I put to it. Meanwhile, the rubbish in my back garden still needs taking to the tip!!!

Leave a Reply

