Mind Alchemy Day 24 – Reciprocity

Day 24 – Reciprocity. Well, actually we are looking beyond the Law of Reciprocity at the act of Giving without the expectation of response or anything in return. I am a big fan of this and believe it sits at the very heart of our intended humanity.

Giving or letting go is the first of Six Keys to Buddhist Living. The Buddha taught that generously giving (ie without expecting reward) would bring you abundant joys and benefits. Your giving can extend to time, money and material goods. It can include giving reassurance, support and protection, or giving or imparting your spiritual and practical knowledge.

And don’t get caught in a trap where you say, ‘I would give, but only to the deserving’. The Buddha taught that you ‘should give to 10 different kinds of people: enemies, friends and those you haven’t made up your mind about; the ethical and the unethical; your equals, inferiors and superiors; those who are helpful and happy, and those who are harmful and angry’. So pretty well everyone. Are you able to do that?

I give without expectation as often as I can. Perhaps the cynic in me says that’s because we live in a world that only reluctantly shows gratitude. But that’s not really the point, is it?

You see, the reciprocal of me giving freely, is also allowing a certain vulnerability that I am also ready to receive because there are others like me. And of course if you appreciate what it’s like to be on ‘the receiving end of generosity’, you’re likely to be much better at giving.

What do you think?

6 responses to “Mind Alchemy Day 24 – Reciprocity

  1. I have always been very giving. I, unknowingly, used to give to get. Used tol keep this mental score. That is not giving at all. It is taking in the end based out of lack, fear and selfishness. Now I can give to everyone without judgment and authentically without any expectations. Feels so much better.

    • Yeah, it does feel good. I agree with your point on ‘taking’. That’s what’s wrong with so much of our world. After all, it’s not a competition so there’s no need to keep score. Take care, Stephen

  2. There’s not much more I can add Stephen. It’s not always easy to give authentically. We have so many needs, so we can allow ourselves to be tricked if we are not careful.
    Vulnerability can be seen as a passive word, but I believe it is very powerful when used in the right context. When vulnerable (in a safe place) we are at one with ourselves and have greater understanding of the world around us.

    • Hi Marty, thanks for dropping by again. I think we are on the same page with this one. If it was easy then anyone could do it 🙂
      And maybe there is a fine line between giving freely and being gullibly fleeced? Thanks again, Stephen

  3. Hey Stephen, totally agree with you about ‘reluctantly showing gratitude’, but I think we are changing as a race, and the internet, with free information, is changing the way we see the world and changing the way we give. This is a great trend and we can get back to the heart of giving without expectation

    • Hi Steven, great to hear from you. I believe that we are too and I know that if enough ‘warriors’ work together then we can shift the paradigm. That’s what drives me every day. Thanks again for dropping by. Stephen

Leave a Reply

