Mind Alchemy Day 16 – Emotional Homeostasis

Day 16 and we are looking at the emotional homeostasis. I must warn you that this lesson starts with some really strong language that may disturb some readers and which personally I cannot condone. You can reach it here.

Despite the strong language opening, I think this is a very important lesson.

Homeostasis is the property of a system that regulates its internal environment and tends to maintain a stable, constant condition. Human homeostasis refers to the body’s ability to physiologically regulate its inner environment to ensure its stability in response to fluctuations in the outside environment and the weather. So emotional homeostasis is your ability to remain stable in the face of external threats or triggers, leading to, for example, road rage or anger or sadness. Essentially, your ability to regulate and continually stabilise your emotions.

To develop this a bit further, life forms can be described as conformers (you allow the environment to determine how you will react or behave) or regulators (you try to remain constant or stable in outlook irrespective or perhaps despite of the environment). Hmmmm. Well, this works for me because I believe that all power starts from within and more especially that you have the capacity of freewill choice. So, when another driver cuts you off, you can choose to remain calm and carry on, or subject yourself (and your blood-pressure), the ‘offending’ driver and all around you to an episode of road-rage. You choose.

Your ability to choose is related to what Steven calls the Stairway to Emotional Mastery; in essence, that you recognise your emotion(s), accept responsibility and learn to remain stable. That way you are in control.

So, how’s your Emotional Homeostasis? (if you don’t mind me asking 🙂 ).

4 responses to “Mind Alchemy Day 16 – Emotional Homeostasis

  1. You know because you said that about the language, it made me want to check it out even more! It did illustrate the point of evoking emotion as exemplified by your comment.

    I agree that homeostasis is a state of balance which we should strive to come back to and remain at as a neutral state. While I do not condone getting angry when someone cuts you off or other trivial reasons and negative emotions, there are some occasions which I would want to veer off of my stable homeostatic platform – to experience extreme joy, love, or gratitude for example – only to come back to my stable home. Does the teaching allow for this?

    • Hi Debbie, some marketeers believe that you will get more clicks on a link that says something like ‘Whatever you do, don’t click me’, than using what the relevant words should be. I guess that’s we call curiosity? I love your point in veering towards positive emotions; I guess I got a bit caught up in avoiding negatives, so thank you. The teaching needs to be capable of this. But that leads to another discussion on relativity and what your base point of balance really is. Fascinating. Thank you as always for your very valuable insight. Take care, Stephen

  2. It’s a word that I can barely pronounce: homeostasis. However, I would like to believe that I have attained a certain balance, harmony and serenity; even while there are external triggers that can potentially set anyone off. Even then, I would have to say that I still have a long way more to go. There are times when I am off center, which accounts for my out-of-normal behavior.

    • Hi Evelyn, great to hear from you again. Off-centre, I like that, and I guess that is one of the key points of this lesson – recognising and knowing your emotional point of balance. That way, and with a sense of inner-peace, you are better equipped to deal with whatever Life may throw at you; in many respects much like dealing with toxic relationsips and the personal energy shield that you covered in your recent posts. Fascinating. Take care, Stephen

Leave a Reply

